//
Uncategorized

First Pitch

I started this blog to write freely about my two favorite subjects: economics and baseball. Most of the time this blog will deal with economic issues, but from time to time I’ll incorporate a baseball post into it. After all, life isn’t fun without a little baseball.

I’m not one of those bloggers who has the time, or the desire, to write multiple posts each day. This blog is a hobby, which means that I’ll indulge in it as time allows, and try not to take it too seriously (but no promises on the latter).

One thing I will stay away from on this blog: the economics of baseball. I have very little interest in contract disputes, ticket prices, etc. I won’t be dealing too much with “Sabermetrics,” or “Moneyball,” either. It’s not that I’m a non-believer in the use of these metrics in baseball- I just don’t think they’re any fun. I’ll leave the number crunching to Nate Silver and Billy Beane.

As far as economics goes, I’m likely to do a lot of blogging on developmental economics- with a particular focus on Latin America and Asia- business issues, monetary economics, and trade. I’m sure at times I won’t be able to help but wade into the partisan dialogue that frames so many public policy issues in this country, but I assure you I’ll do my best to stay clear of demagoguery.

So without further ado: PLAY BALL!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment